Hereditary Colorectal Cancer and the Family

Hereditary colorectal cancer syndrome, such as FAP or LS, is actually a family disease. The identification of a family-specific genetic defect can affect the entire family identity. The passing of the diseased gene from one generation to another is a devastating event for most families. This occurrence can drastically change the lives of an individual as well as his/her extended family.

In addition, family dynamics play a major role in how at-risk individuals cope with the threat of an inherited cancer condition. The diagnosis of hereditary colorectal cancer can create a crisis in a family. An individual’s perception of the threat of genetic defect can precipitate denial, anxiety, anger, guilt and profound depression. These reactions may impede successful resolution and adaptation to the genetic disorder.

Psychological Aspects of Genetic Testing

Scientific advances in the past two decades have offered high-risk members of hereditary colorectal cancer families the chance to discover whether they carry a disease-causing genetic mutation well before they develop any symptom. Individuals found to have a cancer-predisposing mutation can reduce their cancer risk by available medical measures including regular surveillance and, in suitable case, preventive surgeries. Despite the potential medical benefits, the availability of genetic testing for cancer susceptibility raises the concerns about the psychological and behavioral impact following disclosure of cancer risk information.

Lessons Learnt from our Previous Studies

With the help of academics from the University of Hong Kong, the Registry had conducted a number of studies over the years to shed light on the psychosocial reaction of our recruits to their hereditary predisposition, factors affecting their decision regarding genetic testing and their adaptation to their genetic testing results.

Published studies to date include:

  1. A report on in-depth semi-structured interviews with four adults diagnosed with hereditary colorectal cancer more than 5 years prior to the interview. This report was supplemented with information gathered from group discussions with 78 syndrome family members during a psychosocial seminar1;
  2. A cross-sectional questionnaire survey on 62 recruits from syndrome families2;
  3. A prospective longitudinal outcome study of 71 individuals undergoing hereditary colorectal cancer genetic testing3.

Influence of Chinese culture

From our qualitative study, we found that Chinese culture has important influence on our recruits’ adjustment to hereditary colorectal cancer.

All along, the Chinese consider cancer as a curse. The inheritance of cancer from one generation to another has been regarded as a family curse. In our qualitative interview with the four syndrome patients, we detected a strong influence of this concept in the initial phase of these individuals’ illness experience. For example, hereditary colorectal cancer was regarded by one recruit as a curse due to improper burial of the ancestors.

However, with time, these recruits were able to dispel such “family curse” and turned the curse into a more welcomed “blessing” with the help of Buddhist philosophical ideas including: accepting and finding meaning in suffering; accepting the unpredictability of life; embracing the virtue of perseverance; being virtuous and helping others; letting go; and growth through pain. Using these philosophical ideas, our recruits were transformed and were able to change their views on life and death toward more positive ways.

Although hereditary colorectal cancer is a family issue, there may be a tendency for our recruits to avoid sharing their emotional turmoil with their family members, not because they think that the other family members are unsupportive, but because they do not want to impose burdens and sufferings on their loved ones. The opportunity to share one’s emotional reactions towards hereditary colorectal cancer genetic screening without having to worry about burdening the other family members is especially important among the Chinese.

Moreover, Chinese culture plays an important role in decisions relating to genetic testing. In our cross-section questionnaire survey, we found that our Chinese recruits were relationally and interdependently orientated in their decisional consideration process; that is, our recruits were concerned about the well-being and reaction of their significant others even more than their own well-being when they decide whether to receive genetic testing or not.

Genetic Testing

In our qualitative interview, our subjects expressed anticipatory anxiety before disclosure of genetic testing results. They also expressed their concern regarding informing relatives about their genetic testing results. It was because they regarded hereditary cancer as a family curse and hence disclosure of this condition equated to bringing bad news to the family members.

In our cross-sectional study, we found that subjects with higher perceived cancer risk tended to emphasize more on the negative consequence of learning their test results. We recommend that psychological counseling would help these individuals to cope with their anticipatory anxiety and the subsequent distress if proven to be mutated gene carriers.

Beside, subjects with higher depression level focused more on the harmful consequence of sharing their test results with relatives. Therefore, psychological services to reduce distress among individuals going through genetic testing might be beneficial. Furthermore, we found that subjects who believed that cancer was due to bad luck or fate (uncontrollable factors) rather than personal factors (such as stress) tended to focus more on the positive aspects of sharing their results with relatives.

In our longitudinal study of psychological outcome of genetic testing recipients up to 12 months after result disclosure, we found that majority (more than 65%) of tested individuals were psychologically resilient; that is, these individuals exhibited little or no depression and anxiety from pre-disclosure baseline up to one year after result disclosure.

More importantly, we found that baseline level of hope was a significant predictor of resilient outcome for both anxiety and depression. This result remained the same after controlling for demographic data, medical information and baseline level of mood status of the study participants.

We believe that high-hope individuals, when confronted with an adverse event such as a family diagnosis of hereditary colorectal cancer, are better able to reprioritize their goals in life, better able to generate alternative ideas about how to achieve their goals and have higher levels of motivation to actualize alternative pathways to their goals.

The good news is that hope-based training is now available to increase an individual’s level of hopefulness. Hope-based training can be incorporated into genetic counseling programmes and such training would be beneficial to the psychological adjustment of hereditary colorectal cancer genetic testing recipients.

Psychosocial Support Programme of the Registry

Based on the findings of our research, the Registry has developed the following psychosocial support initiatives for our recruits:

  1. Psycho-educational Programme for Genetic Testing
    The Registry has developed and published a manual titled “Hope-based Intervention Study, Psycho-Educational Component: a Framework” to facilitate genetic counseling.
    Apart from serving as a document for our psychosocial intervention programme, the manual is also a useful resource to standardize the psycho-educational process of hereditary colorectal cancer genetic testing for quality assurance. Furthermore, the manual can also be used as an educational tool for the training of genetic counselors in Hong Kong.
    Essential components in our programme include:

    1. Pre-testing genetic counseling
    2. Post-testing genetic counseling
    3. Post-disclosure telephone follow-up (1-2 months after result disclosure).
  2. Psychosocial Support Programme
    1. Patient Support Groups – two patient support groups, one for FAP and another for LS, have been established to provide regular education and psychosocial support to individuals with the respective syndromes.
    2. Ad Hoc Peer and Professional Psychological Support – Prior to prophylactic surgery for FAP, the Registry will arrange experience sharing by a fellow FAP individual. For recruits requiring in-hospital treatment, the Registry would arrange hospital visits by volunteering fellow-syndrome patients to provide support. Psychosocial support is also important when recruits face ad hoc life events including pregnancy, death in the family, and new cancer diagnosis in the family. During such situations, the Registry would arrange additional counseling sessions to deal with the medical and social issues involved and to provide psychosocial support when necessary.
    3. The Registry’s newsletter serves as a forum for education of our recruits and the medical profession regarding hereditary colorectal cancer. Recruits also submit articles regularly to be posted on the newsletter to share their experience of living with their condition.
  3. Intervention Based on the Theory of Positive Psychology
    In recent years, the Registry is moving from remedial psychological support towards prophylactic psychological service to improve resilience among the recruits. Our research and service direction are inspired by the cognitive theory of hope proposed by Snyder.

    We believe that increasing hope may increase resilience among our recruits. We have developed a hope-based intervention manual specially designed for syndrome family members. Pilot-testing of this six-session group psychotherapy have been completed with one year follow-up outcome data4. Information gained from this pilot study helps to steer the direction of our psychosocial service.


  1. Yee KWK. The continuation of a family curse? A qualitative study of the illness experience of patients suffering from hereditary colon cancer. Dissertation for the Degree of Master of Social Science. The University of Hong Kong. 2001.
  2. Ho SYM, Ho JWC, Chan CLW et al. Decisional consideration of hereditary colon cancer genetic testing results among Hong Kong Chinese adults. Cancer Epidemiol Biomarkers Prev 2003; 12: 426-432.
  3. Ho SYM, Ho JWC, Bonanno GA et al. Hopefulness predicts resilience after hereditary colorectal cancer genetic testing: a prospective outcome trajectory study. BMC Cancer 2010; 10: 279.
  4. Ho SMY, Ho JWC, Paul BKY, Hui BPH, Wong RSM, Chu ATW. Hope-based intervention for individuals susceptible to colorectal cancer: a pilot study. Fam Cancer 2012; 11(4): 545-51.; doi 10.1007/s10689-012-9545-3.

遺傳性結直腸癌與相關家庭

遺傳性結直腸癌綜合症如FAP或LS,其實是家庭病症的一種。找出個別家庭的基因缺憾可影響成員對其家庭的認同性。得到一代傳一代的致病基因對大部分家庭而言都具破壞性,並可大大改變個人、甚至整個家庭的生活。

此外,就有機會患病人士如何面對及處理遺傳性癌症威脅,家庭動力扮演一個重要的角色。遺傳性結直腸癌的診斷會為家庭帶來危機。個別人士對基因缺憾的恐懼感可促使否認、焦慮、憤怒、內疚、和深遠的抑鬱情緒。這些反應可妨礙患者成功定下適應基因疾病的決心。

基因測試與心理反應

過去二十年的科學進步,使遺傳性結直腸癌家庭中的高危成員可有機會在出現病徵前找出自己是否帶有引致病症的基因突變。被驗出帶有相關基因突變的人士可透過定期監察和在合適的情況下接受預防手術來減低其癌症風險。儘管基因測試有潛在的醫療好處,得知有關癌症風險資訊後所引發的心理及行為反應亦需要跟進。

我們過去的研究經驗

有賴多名隸屬香港大學的學者幫助,資料庫在過去幾年做了多項關於患者對遺傳性傾向的心理社會反應研究,並找出影響適應基因測試結果和測試決定的相關因素。

至今刊載的研究包括:

  1. 有關半結構式訪談的報告,其中四名成年人在訪談前已被診斷患上遺傳性結直腸癌達五年以上。此報告附錄了78名綜合症家庭成員在一個心理社會研討會期間所討論的內容1;
  2. 有關62名綜合症家庭成員的橫斷性問卷調查2;
  3. 有關71名接受了遺傳性結直腸癌基因測試人士的前瞻性縱向結果研究3

中國文化的影響

從定性研究中,我們找到中國文化可大大影響患者適應遺傳性結直腸癌的能力。

自故以來,中國人視癌症為詛咒,更視一代傳一代的遺傳性癌症為家族詛咒。4名綜合症病人接受了我們的定性訪談。在訪談中,我們發現中國文化在患者早期生病時有著強烈的影響,如有一名成員認為不正確埋葬祖先便會被詛咒而患上遺傳性結直腸癌等。

不過,隨著時間流逝,相關成員已消除「家族詛咒」的疑慮,並在佛教哲學思想 (即接受不幸及在不幸中找出意義、接受生命中的無常、信奉堅持不懈的美德、要有善良心並幫助他人、及從痛苦中成長) 的薰陶下把詛咒變為「祝福」。這些哲學思想改變了患者的想法,使他們對人生和死亡的態度變得更正面。

雖然遺傳性結直腸癌是家庭問題,但患者有逃避與家人分享情緒問題的趨勢。這並不是因為他們擔心家人對其病症的不支持,而是不想加重所愛親人的負擔及不幸。對中國人尤其重要的是,懂得把握機會與他人分享自己對遺傳性結直腸癌基因測試的情緒反應,並能放下有關給予家人負擔的憂慮。

同時,中國文化在基因測試決定中也扮演了一個重要的角色。我們透過橫斷性問卷調查發現,中國患者在考慮決策過程時,他們主要是以關係和互相依賴定位的。即是說,在決定是否接受基因測試時,相對於自己的安康,患者更關心親人的反應和安康。

基因測試

在定性訪談中,參與者在得知基因測試結果前表露焦慮。他們亦就通知親人基因測試結果一事表示關心。這是由於他們認為遺傳性癌症是家族詛咒,告知這狀況便等同帶給家庭成員壞消息。

在橫斷性研究中,我們發現到有高知覺癌症風險的參與者傾向較注重得知測試結果後的負面結果。因此,被證實帶有突變基因的人士應接受心理輔導,以助他們處理焦慮及隨後的困擾。

此外,我們亦發現有較高抑鬱程度的參與者較注意與家人分享測試結果的害處,因此心理服務會有助相關人士減低基因測試所帶來的困擾。我們並進一步知道,相信因惡運或命運 (不能控制的因素) 而不是個人因素 (如壓力) 導致癌症的參與者傾向較注意與家人分享測試結果的好處。

在一項得知基因測試結果後達十二個月的心理結果縱向研究中,我們發現大部分 (多於百分之六十五) 參與者能在心理上迅速恢復精力。即這些人士從基線(得知結果前)至得知結果後的一年只展示少許或甚至無抑鬱和焦慮。

更重要的是,我們找到基線希望水平是焦慮和抑鬱回彈力結果的重要預測因素。這結果於控制參與研究者的人口數據、醫療資料、及心情基線程度後仍是相同。

當遇上不幸的事如家庭中有成員被診斷出遺傳性結直腸癌時,我們相信有高希望度的人士更能適當地重新安排人生目標的優先次序、定出有關怎樣達其目標的計劃、及有更高的動力來實現這些期望。

好消息是「希望型培訓」現在可提供給有關人士來増加其希望程度。我們相信將希望型培訓與基因輔導項目合併為一將會有助接受遺傳性結直腸癌基因測試者的心理適應。

資料庫心理社會支援項目

資料庫已就我們研究結果為其成員建立了以下的心理社會支援行動:

  1. 基因測試的心理教育項目
    資料庫已詳盡闡述和出版了一本小冊子名為「希望型介入研究,心理教育成分之大綱」來促進基因輔導的工作。
    小冊子除可成為心理社會項目的參考文件外,亦有助標準化遺傳性結直腸癌基因測試的心理教育過程,以確保過程質素。此小冊子並可用作教育工具培訓香港基因輔導員。
    心理教育項目的主要成分包括:

    1. 基因測試前的輔導
    2. 基因測試後的輔導
    3. 告知後的電話跟進 (透露結果後的1-2個月)
  2. 心理社會支援項目
    1. 病人支援小組–兩組病人支援小組,一組屬於FAP和另一組屬於LS,自成立以來一直提供定期教育和心理社會支援給各綜合症組別人士。
    2. 特別朋輩和專業心理支援 –在接受FAP預防手術前,資料庫將安排一名同時經歷FAP的人士來分享其經驗。對需要住院治療的成員,資料庫會安排相同綜合症的義工病友作醫院探訪並向相關成員提供支援。當患者面對特別生活事故包括懷孕、家人離世、和有家人被診斷癌症時,心理社會支援相當重要。所以如需要時,資料庫會安排額外輔導環節來處理有關醫學和社交問題。
    3. 資料庫的會訊用作教育成員和醫護專業人士有關遺傳性結直腸癌的平台。患者遞交的文章將定期刊登於會訊中,向大家分享帶著病症生活的經驗。
  3. 以正面心理理論為基礎的介入
    近年,資料庫正從改善心理支援移向預防心理服務來改善成員心理健康的回彈力。我們研究和服務方向是由史耐德提出的「希望認知理論」所鼓動的。
    我們相信增加希望感可以増加成員心理健康的回彈力。我們已特別為綜合症家庭成員設計了一本希望型介入小冊子。六節的組別心理輔導前期測試已完成,並已把跟進了一年的結果數據收集起來4。這前期研究所得到的資料為資料庫的心理社會服務提供了方向指引和幫助。

參考文獻

  1. Yee KWK.  The continuation of a family curse? A qualitative study of the illness experience of patients suffering from hereditary colon cancer.  Dissertation for the Degree of Master of Social Science. The University of Hong Kong. 2001.
  2. Ho SYM, Ho JWC, Chan CLW et al.  Decisional consideration of hereditary colon cancer genetic testing results among Hong Kong Chinese adults.  Cancer Epidemiol Biomarkers Prev 2003; 12: 426-432.
  3. Ho SYM, Ho JWC, Bonanno GA et al.  Hopefulness predicts resilience after hereditary colorectal cancer genetic testing: a prospective outcome trajectory study.  BMC Cancer 2010; 10: 279.
  4. Ho SMY, Ho JWC, Paul BKY, Hui BPH, Wong RSM, Chu ATW. Hope-based intervention for individuals susceptible to colorectal cancer: a pilot study. Fam Cancer 2012; 11(4): 545-51.; doi 10.1007/s10689-012-9545-3.