Familial Adenomatous Polyposis (FAP)

FAP is the most common polyposis syndrome.

Classical FAP

Classical familial adenomatous polyposis is an autosomal dominant inherited syndrome characterized by the presence of hundreds to thousands of adenomas (polyps) throughout the large bowel. The penetrance in FAP is close to 100%. Nearly 80% of patients have kin with FAP. However, 10-30% of patients represent spontaneous mutation.

Colorectal Phenotype

Affected individuals are healthy at birth. During the second or third decade of life, however, adenomas begin to develop until the colon and rectum are covered by hundreds to thousands of growths. If left untreated, one or more of these adenomas will inevitably develop into colorectal adenocarcinoma at a mean age of 40 years.

Offspring of an affected individual will have a 50% chance of inheriting and developing the disease. Pre-symptomatic diagnosis by screening of these at-risk family members and prophylactic (preventive) colectomy of affected individuals are effective ways to prevent malignant transformation, and thus reduce mortality and morbidity from colorectal cancer in FAP individuals.

Extracolonic Phenotype

Apart from colorectal involvement, patients with FAP are at risk for a broad spectrum of extracolonic manifestations (ECM) involving all three embryonic cell lineages.

Some ECMs, including epidermoid cyst, osteoma, dental odontoma, congenital hypertrophied retinal pigmented epithelium (CHRPE) and gastric fundic gland polyps, have benign course. In the era prior to genetic testing, CHRPE represents a very useful diagnostic biomarker to allow FAP diagnosis before the appearance of colorectal adenomas.

Certain ECMs have, however, potentially life-threatening consequences. Upper gastrointestinal malignancy (especially duodenal adenocarcinoma) and desmoids tumours represent the two major causes of morbidity and mortality in FAP patients who received prophylactic colectomy. Therefore, regular surveillance for ECMs is recommended. Other associated malignancies include pancreatic, biliary tree, small intestine, thyroid, adrenal and brain tumours.

Attenuated Phenotype

A milder form of the syndrome, called Attenuated FAP (AFAP) is characterized by adenomas developing later in life and these adenomas are predominantly on the right side of the colon.

FAP Genotype

FAP is caused by germline mutation of the Adenomatous Polyposis Coli (APC) gene located on the long arm of chromosome 5 (5q21-22). Germline mutation usually results in a premature stop codon signaling termination of transcription and formation of a truncated and functionally inactive protein.

Identification of the APC gene in the early 90s has allowed the characterization of disease-causing mutation in an FAP patient. Majority of the germline mutation occur between codons 1000 and 1600 which is referred to as the “mutation cluster zone”. AFAP-associated mutations have been shown to be located in specific regions of the APC gene.

In recent years, it is found that mutations in the MYH gene cause an autosomal recessive form of familial adenomatous polyposis (also called MYH-associated polyposis). Such mutations account for <5% of all adenomatous polyposis families reported to date. For these individuals, mutations in both copies of the MYH gene result in the polyposis phenotype.

Clinical and Molecular Diagnosis

For the majority of patients, clinical diagnosis is obvious except for the attenuated form.

With the advance of technology, molecular genetic analysis by sequencing and MLPA can allow identification of germline APC gene mutation in more than 80% of patients with a clinical diagnosis of FAP.

Screening of Family Members

Once an FAP patient is diagnosed, screening should be offered to all at-risk first-degree relatives within the family. Pre-symptomatic diagnosis by screening has been shown, both in Hong Kong and other countries, to decrease colorectal cancer rate and its related mortality significantly in these high-risk individuals.

In families with identifiable pathogenic germline APC mutation (from surviving index patient), predictive genetic testing could be offered to at-risk first-degree relatives above the age of 12 with an accuracy rate approaching 100%. Family members with a negative result can be discharged from further screening. For family members who are detected to be mutated gene carriers, genetic counseling and rigorous endoscopic surveillance are recommended to recognize the phenotype early to allow timely appropriate clinical management.

In those families in which genetic testing is not possible (due to no surviving index patients) or uninformative (due to no identifiable mutation), all at-risk relatives above the age of 12 years will be offered the traditional biennial lower endoscopic surveillance.


There is no known medical cure for FAP.

Prophylactic Colectomy

Due to the large number of adenomas in the large bowel and the high cancer risk, surgical resection is the only feasible preventive strategy against colorectal cancer and it should be performed as early as possible to maximize outcome.

There are several types of surgical resection available for FAP. The choice depends on the patient’s preference on aftercare and the distribution of polyposis in the large bowel. In each of the following operations, the patient’s individual needs and circumstances are considered:

  1. Colectomy and ileorectal anastomosis (IRA) – The removal of the colon, leaving 10-15 cm of the rectum. The last part of the small bowel (ileum) is joined, or anastomosed, to the rectum. Since the rectum remains, the patient must be sigmoidoscoped lifelong at regular intervals (usually every 6 months) to ensure that no new adenomas develop. If the remaining rectum contains only a few adenomas, these can be removed or destroyed through the sigmoidoscope. This operation is not suggested if a patient already has cancer, if there are too many rectal adenomas, or if the patient will not return for ongoing examination after surgery.
  2. Restorative proctocolectomy (pelvic pouch) – The excision of the colon, upper part of the rectum and lining of the lower part of the rectum leaving the sphincter muscles controlling the urge for a bowel movement. A new rectum, or pouch, is created from the ileum, brought down into the pelvis, and then joined to the anus. Time is needed for the area to properly heal and ensure good function of the pouch. Therefore, a temporary opening (stoma) is made from the ileum to the outside of the abdomen. This surgically created opening is called an ileostomy which means that an external appliance is worn to collect waste products. After about three months, a second shorter operation is required to close the ileostomy. Patient must continue medical follow-up of their pouch as part of their preventive health care. This technical procedure is not recommended for all patients with FAP and should be performed by experienced surgeons. A pelvic pouch should not be done in patients who already have, or subsequently develop, a rectal cancer.
  3. Proctocolectomy – The removal of the entire colon and rectum. A permanent ileostomy is formed, usually to the right and below the umbilicus (navel) so that waste products can pass into an external appliance. This operation may be suggested if there are too many adenomas in the rectum to be controlled by other methods or if there is rectal cancer.

Post-colectomy Surveillance

After prophylactic colectomy, FAP patients should continue to have lifelong regular surveillance for the remaining at-risk gastrointestinal mucosa:

  1. Residual rectum – For those who had colectomy and ileorectal anastomosis (IRA), the remaining rectum require regular sigmoidoscopic surveillance and ablation of residual and new rectal adenomas at six monthly intervals. Failure to control the rectal polyps by endoscopic indicates the need for completion proctectomy to prevent rectal cancer development.
  2. Pelvic pouch – It is increasingly recognized that polyposis can develop in the pelvic pouch with a theoretical risk of malignant transformation. Therefore, these patients should be subjected to regular endoscopic surveillance. Upon identification, pouch adenomas can be controlled using a combination of endoscopic ablation and drug treatment.
  3. Upper gastrointestinal tract – Upper gastrointestinal tract surveillance should be performed using a combination of end-view gastroscope and side-view duodenoscope with the aim of ablating any worrisome lesions to prevent duodenal adenocarcinoma. The surveillance interval is usually every 2-3 years; yet, the intervals may be shortened in those with more severe form of duodenal polyposis.

家族性結直腸瘜肉綜合症 (簡稱FAP)

FAP是最常見的瘜肉綜合症。

典型FAP

典型的家族性結直腸瘜肉綜合症是一種以常染色體顯性遺傳的綜合症,其特徵是大腸上長滿數以百計或千計的腺瘤 (瘜肉)。FAP的外顯度接近100%。差不多80%的病人有FAP的家族史。但有10-30%的FAP是由自然突變而起的。

結直腸的表型

受影響人士在出生時是健康的。但是,腺瘤會在十至二十歲時開始出現,直至結腸和直腸被數以百計至千計的瘜肉所覆蓋。若不加以治理,一粒或多粒的瘜肉將無可避免地在約40歲時轉變成結直腸腺癌 (即大腸癌)。

受影響人士的後代將會有一半機會遺傳和患上這病症。為高危家庭成員以普查達致之無病徵期的診斷及預防性結腸切除術能有效預防患者瘜肉的惡性轉變,因而減低了FAP患者的結直腸癌發病率和死亡率。

結腸外的表型

除大腸瘜肉外,FAP患者會在身體其他地方有增生,稱為「結腸外増生」(簡稱ECM),涉及所有三個胚層的品系。

部分良性ECM包括表皮樣囊腫 (俗稱粉瘤)、骨瘤、牙瘤、先天性網膜色素上皮肥大 (簡稱CHRPE)、和胃底腺瘜肉。在有基因測試前的年代,CHRPE是一個非常有用的診斷生物標記,令患者可在結直腸腺瘤出現前被診斷出FAP。

但是,某部分ECM有潛在致命的後果。胃及十二指腸腺癌和硬纖維瘤是導致FAP患者在預防性結腸切除術後生病和死亡的兩個主要起因。所以,病人應該定期接受與這兩個ECM相關的檢查。其他與FAP有關的癌瘤包括胰、膽管、小腸、甲狀腺、腎上腺、和腦腫瘤。

弱化FAP表型

弱化FAP (簡稱AFAP) 是較輕微的FAP綜合症,它的特徵是腺瘤在較年長時才生長,並主要生長於右邊的結腸。

FAP基因型

位於5號染色體長臂 (5q21-22) 的APC (Adenomatours Polyposis Coil) 基因出現胚源基因 (種系) 突變,導致FAP。胚源細胞突變通常令終止密碼子提早發出轉錄終止信號,並製造出功能上不活躍和縮短了的蛋白質。

90年代早期,APC基因的識別使FAP患者得以找出導致其病症的基因突變。大部分胚源基因突變發生於密碼子1000至1600之間 ,即「突變群區域」。相關研究亦顯示AFAP相關突變位於APC基因的特別區。

除此之外,近年MYH基因亦被發現可導致以常染色體隱性形式遺傳的家族性結直腸瘜肉綜合症 (亦稱為MYH基因有關的瘜肉症)。受此症影響人士之兩條MYH基因皆有突變,因而導致瘜肉表型的產生。至目前為止,此基因異變影響少於5%患有瘜肉綜合症的家庭。

臨床及分子診斷

臨床診斷對大部分病人來說是容易的 (除AFAP病患外)。

由於科技的進步,核酸定序 (sequencing) 和多重連接探針擴增技術 (簡稱MLPA) 的分子基因分析可為超過八成的FAP患者識別出胚源APC基因突變的情況。

家庭成員的普查

一旦患者被驗出患有FAP,其家庭內所有有機會患病的直系親屬都應該接受檢查。根據香港和其他國家的研究指出,以普查達致的無病徵期診斷能大大減低高危人士的結直腸癌病發率及死亡率。

若生存中的索引病人被確診帶有引起FAP的胚源APC基因突變,其家庭中12歲以上有機會患病的直系親屬可以接受準確度高達百分之百的預測性基因測試。結果屬陰性的家庭成員可退出普查。至於被驗出是突變基因攜帶者的家庭成員,他們應接受基因輔導和嚴格的內窺鏡監測,以便及早確認病徵和接受及時的適當臨床治療。

對於那些不能夠進行基因測試 (由於沒有生存中的索引病人) 或結果不明 (由於沒有可識別出的基因突變) 的家庭而言,所有12歲以上有機會患病的親屬將要接受每兩年一次的大腸內窺鏡檢查。

治療

現時仍未有根治FAP的方法。

預防性大腸切除術

由於患者的大腸內出現大量腺瘤及容易患上癌症,外科切除術是唯一可抗衡結直腸癌的預防策略,手術亦應該盡早進行,以增加其成效。

按患者術後跟進計劃的喜好和大腸內的瘜肉分佈情況,有幾種外科切除術可供選擇。以下每種切除術都顧及了患者的個別需要和情況:

  1.  結腸切除及迴腸直腸吻合術 (IRA) –將結腸切除,留下10-15厘米的直腸。小腸的尾段 (迥腸) 接上直腸。因為仍然剩下直腸,病人必需終生定期接受直腸內窺鏡檢查,以確保沒有腺瘤生長。如直腸長了少數瘜肉,可在乙狀結腸鏡檢查時一併切除。若病人已患有癌症、過多直腸瘜肉或病人在手術後不會繼續接受檢查,則不建議使用這個手術。
  2. 恢復性結直腸切除術 (骨盆囊袋)
    將結腸、直腸上半部及直腸下半部的內層切除,留下肛門及括約肌控制排便。用迴腸造成一條新直腸或囊袋,將囊袋帶到骨盆,然後接上肛門。由於傷口 (接合處) 需要一段時間復原和確保囊袋運作良好,因此有需要在迴腸處暫做一個造口通出腹外以排泄糞便 (即迴腸造口術,意指要戴著外置儀器來收集糞便)。約三個月後,會進行第二個簡短的手術閉合迴腸造口。為著骨盆囊袋的保健起見,病人手術後必須定期覆診。並不是所有的FAP患者也適合接受這種手術,而且這種手術必須由有經驗的外科醫生進行。已患結直腸癌或後來患直腸癌的病人不建議接受骨盆囊袋手術。
  3. 結直腸切除術
    把整條結直腸切除,並且開一個永久的迴腸造口。造口的位置一般在肚臍的右下 方,用以排泄糞便至外置儀器中。若病人已患上直腸癌,或者直腸上長滿了腺瘤, 並用其他方法控制不了時,就應該做這種手術。

大腸切除術後的監察

大腸切除術後,餘下的腸胃黏膜仍然有長腺瘤的風險,FAP病人應繼續接受終身定期檢查。

  1. 餘下直腸–對於接受了結腸切除及迴腸直腸吻合術 (IRA) 的人士,餘下的直腸需作每六個月一次的定期乙狀結腸鏡檢查,以便切除餘下或新的直腸腺瘤。若內窺鏡檢查不能夠控制瘜肉生長情況,為預防直腸癌,病人需要接受結直腸切除術。
  2. 骨盆囊袋–愈來愈多研究指出瘜肉可在骨盆囊袋生長,並且理論上瘜肉有轉變成腺癌的風險。因此,這些病人應接受定期內窺鏡檢查。經識別後,囊袋腺瘤可用內窺鏡切除和藥物治療的合併方法來控制。
  3. 胃及十二指腸–用端視胃鏡和側視十二指腸鏡進行上腸胃道檢查,並切除腺性瘜肉來預防十二指腸腺癌。監察相隔時間通常是每2-3年。但是,如找到較嚴重的十二指腸瘜肉,檢查相隔時間便可能要被縮短。