Colorectal Cancer in Hong Kong

According to the latest statistics from the Hong Kong Cancer Registry, colorectal cancer (also called large bowel cancer) is the commonest cancer with more than 4,900 new patients diagnosed in the year 2014 and more than 2,000 persons died from this condition making it the second most lethal cancer locally1. Moreover, there has been a steadily increasing trend in the number of new cases in the territory over the past few decades (Table 1). We have previously shown that Hong Kong has an exceptionally high incidence of colorectal cancer in the young population2.

Hereditary Colorectal Cancer

While environmental and lifestyle factors play a major role in the cause of most colorectal cancers (for which affected individuals are usually in their 60s and 70s), about 5-10% of all colorectal cancers is associated with heredity, that is, these individuals suffer from colorectal cancer due to defects in their genes3-4

The two main types of hereditary colorectal cancers are Familial Adenomatous Polyposis (FAP) and Lynch Syndrome (LS; also called Hereditary Non-Polyposis Colorectal Cancer, HNPCC). They are caused by germline mutation of the Adenomatous Polyposis Coli (APC) and Mismatch Repair (MMR) genes, respectively.  Both these conditions are inherited in an autosomal dominant fashion, that is, offspring of an affected individual will have 50% chance of inheriting the condition and predispose to colorectal and other related cancers. Moreover, affected individuals tend to develop these cancers early in their life. The psychological and economic burdens on these families are profound.

Pre-symptomatic Diagnosis and Registry

For high-risk individuals from hereditary colorectal cancer families, pre-symptomatic detection and treatment of precancerous adenoma or early cancer by regular checkup (called surveillance) is the most effective way to prevent colorectal cancer and its associated morbidity and mortality5-9. In the past two decades, advances in molecular genetic technology have allowed detection of these abnormal genes causing the various types of hereditary colorectal cancer syndromes. Genetic diagnosis and screening make it possible to distinguish accurately the disease-gene carriers from those who have not inherited the defective gene within an affected family, thus allowing an accurate risk assessment of all the at-risk family members. The non-carriers will be relieved from the psychological burden as well as the chore of continuous surveillance. Resources can then be concentrated on counseling and vigilant surveillance of those carrying the defective gene to prevent cancer development.

Management of these hereditary colorectal cancer families requires a multidisciplinary approach and is best organized by a dedicated registry10. Since its establishment in 1995, the Hereditary Gastrointestinal Cancer Registry has developed a comprehensive service for these hereditary colorectal cancer families in Hong Kong10. As of May 2017, the Registry has recruited 987 families with 634 index patients and 1,740 at-risk relatives being alive.


  1. Hong Kong Cancer Registry, Hospital Authority, Hong Kong 2014.
    ( ; latest accession date 8 May 2017)
  2. Yuen ST, Chung LP, Leung SY, Chan ASY, Ho J, Ho JWC, Wyllie AH.  Colorectal carcinoma in Hong Kong: epidemiology and genetic mutation. Br J Cancer 1997; 76(12): 1610-1616.
  3. Cannon-Albright LA et al. Common inheritance of susceptibility to colonic adenomatous polyps and associated colorectal cancer. N Engl J Med 1988; 319: 533-537.
  4. Winawer SJ et al. Colorectal cancer screening: clinical guidelines and rationale. Gastroenterology 1997; 112: 595-642.
  5. Ho JWC, Yuen ST. Screening of hereditary colorectal cancer syndromes. Asian J Surg 2000; 23: 332-343.
  6. Ho JW, Chu KM, Tse CW, Yuen ST. Phenotype and management of patients with familial adenomatous polyposis in Hong Kong: perspective of the Hereditary Gastrointestinal Cancer Registry. Hong Kong Med J 2002; 8: 342-347.
  7. Jarvinen HJ. Epidemiology of familial adenomatous polyposis in Finland: impact of family screening on the colorectal cancer rate and survival. Gut 1992; 33: 357-360.
  8. Jarvinen HJ, Mecklin JP, Sistonen P. Screening reduces colorectal cancer rate in families with hereditary nonpolyposis colorectal cancer. Gastroenterology 1995; 108: 1405-1411.
  9. Vasen HFA, van Ballegooijen M, Buskens E et al. A cost effective analysis of colorectal screening of hereditary nonpolyposis colorectal carcinoma gene carriers.  Cancer 1998; 82: 1732-1637.
  10. Ho JWC, Wei R, Chan EMS. Hereditary colorectal cancer syndromes in Hong Kong: a Registry’s perspective. Hereditary Cancer in Clinical Practice 2005; 3: 147-154.

結直腸癌與香港

根據香港癌症資料統計中心的最新數據,結直腸癌 (亦稱大腸癌) 是最常見的癌症。單於2014年就有多於4,900宗的新病例,並且有多於2,000人因此病症而死亡,使結直腸癌成為本港的第二號癌症殺手1。‏而且,在過去的數十年,新病例數目有不斷増加的趨勢 (表一)。我們數年前相關的研究指出香港年輕人口有異常高的結直腸癌發病率2

遺傳性結直腸癌

縱然環境和生活習慣因素在大部分結直腸癌 (即發病年齡為60-70歲) 的起因中扮演一個重要的角色,約5-10%的結直腸癌是與遺傳有關的,意思指這些人士是由於本身的基因出現問題,而患上結直腸癌3-4

兩種主要的遺傳性結直腸癌是家族性結直腸瘜肉綜合症 (簡稱FAP) 和連氏綜合症 (Lynch Syndrome, 簡稱 LS; 舊有名稱為遺傳性 [非瘜肉] 結直腸癌綜合症, HNPCC)。這兩種病症分別是由APC基因及錯配修補(MMR)基因突變所引起的,其遺傳方式是常染色體顯性遺傳,意思指受影響人士的後代 (男女機會均等) 將會有50%機會遺傳此病症,所以他們較普通人容易患上結直腸癌及其他相連的癌症。而且,這些癌瘤多在家庭成員年輕時就發生, 所以這些癌症對相關家庭造成沉重的心理和經濟負擔。

病徵前的診斷和資料庫

對有遺傳性結直腸癌家庭的高危人士而言,利用定期檢查 (稱為監測) 的手段來偵測和診治無病徵的癌前病害,是預防結直腸癌病發和引致死亡的最有效方法5-9。在過去的二十年,分子科技的發達令醫療人員可測試出導致這兩種遺傳性綜合症的變異基因。遺傳學診斷及普查更可準確地在高危家庭裡,分辨出其成員是否帶有致癌基因。這樣,帶有正常基因的家庭成員便可放下心理負擔和不用再接受持續普查所帶來的不便。再者,資源可集中用在帶有致癌基因的家庭成員身上,以提供完整的諮詢服務及定期的癌瘤監察以預防癌症的發生。

服務受遺傳性結直腸癌影響的家庭涉及跨部門的醫療人員,因此有必要成立一專門的資料庫來統籌這項服務10。自1995年成立以來,遺傳性腸胃癌資料庫為香港的遺傳性結直腸癌家庭提供獨有的服務。直至2017年5月,資料庫已招募了987個家庭,其中634名指標性病人和1,740名高危親屬仍然在生。

參考文獻

  1. Hong Kong Cancer Registry, Hospital Authority, Hong Kong 2014.
    (http://www3.ha.org.hk/cancereg/ ; latest accession date 8 May 2017)
  2. Yuen ST, Chung LP, Leung SY, Chan ASY, Ho J, Ho JWC, Wyllie AH.  Colorectal carcinoma in Hong Kong: epidemiology and genetic mutation.  Br J Cancer 1997; 76(12): 1610-1616.
  3. Cannon-Albright LA et al.  Common inheritance of susceptibility to colonic adenomatous polyps and associated colorectal cancer.  N Engl J Med 1988; 319: 533-537.
  4. Winawer SJ et al.  Colorectal cancer screening: clinical guidelines and rationale.  Gastroenterology 1997; 112: 595-642.
  5. Ho JWC, Yuen ST.  Screening of hereditary colorectal cancer syndromes.  Asian J Surg 2000; 23: 332-343.
  6. Ho JW, Chu KM, Tse CW, Yuen ST.  Phenotype and management of patients with familial adenomatous polyposis in Hong Kong: perspective of the Hereditary Gastrointestinal Cancer Registry.  Hong Kong Med J 2002; 8: 342-347.
  7. Jarvinen HJ.  Epidemiology of familial adenomatous polyposis in Finland: impact of family screening on the colorectal cancer rate and survival.  Gut 1992; 33: 357-360.
  8. Jarvinen HJ, Mecklin JP, Sistonen P.  Screening reduces colorectal cancer rate in families with hereditary nonpolyposis colorectal cancer.  Gastroenterology 1995; 108: 1405-1411.
  9. Vasen HFA, van Ballegooijen M, Buskens E et al.  A cost effective analysis of colorectal screening of hereditary nonpolyposis colorectal carcinoma gene carriers.  Cancer 1998; 82: 1732-1637.
  10. Ho JWC, Wei R, Chan EMS.  Hereditary colorectal cancer syndromes in Hong Kong: a Registry’s perspective.  Hereditary Cancer in Clinical Practice 2005; 3: 147-154.